title image | the website for Bath's Heritage Plaques | Robert Southey

Robert Southey

Who was he?

Wikipedia:   Robert Southey (12 August 1774 – 21 March 1843) was an English poet of the Romantic school, one of the so-called "Lake Poets", and Poet Laureate for 30 years from 1813 to his death in 1843. Although his fame tends to be eclipsed by that of his contemporaries and friends William Wordsworth and Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Southey's verse enjoys enduring popularity. Moreover, Southey was a prolific letter writer, literary scholar, essay writer, historian and biographer. His biographies include the life and works of John Bunyan, John Wesley, William Cowper, Oliver Cromwell and Horatio Nelson. The latter has rarely been out of print since its publication in 1813 and was adapted for the screen in the 1926 British film, Nelson. He was also a renowned Portuguese and Spanish scholar, translating a number of works of those two countries into English and writing both a History of Brazil (part of his planned History of Portugal which was never completed) and a History of the Peninsular War. Perhaps his most enduring contribution to literary history is the immortal children's classic, The Story of the Three Bears, the original Goldilocks story, which first saw print in 1834 in Southey's novel, The Doctor

Why was he in Bath?

When he was young, Southey stayed in Bath with his aunt, a Miss Tyler, who lived at 108, Walcot Street. She often took young Robert to the theatre - the old Theatre Royal in Orchard Street; he remarked later in his life that he saw more plays before he was seven than after he was twenty:
Location of plaque at 108, Walcot Street

Robert Southey plaque

The text reads

"Here lived Robert Southey b. 1774 d. 1843"

Location map of 108, Walcot Street:
Robert Southey location map



| Contents | About  Home |

(c) 2011 | Contact us|